tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
  • Home
News Roundup

Three Pasco cities will have contested council races

NEW PORT RICHEY – It will be a hotly contested election April 10 in several Pasco cities as 16 candidates vie for a total of six seats in New Port Richey, Port Richey and Zephyrhills. All races are nonpartisan.

Meanwhile, Dade City Mayor Camille Hernandez and Commissioner Scott Black kept their seats, unopposed as election qualifying ended at noon Tuesday. In New Port Richey, two incumbents are giving up their seats: City Council members Bill Phillips, who opted not to run; and Judy DeBella Thomas, who will leave office due to term limits.

Seven candidates seek to replace them. The top two vote-getters will win the seats. Candidates include Peter Altman, Marilynn deChant, Joan Hook, Matthew Murphy, Robert Oman, Linda Rice and Bob Smallwood.

The Port Richey City Council will have at least one new face after the election. Council member Nancy Britton did not file to run, while incumbent Terry Rowe is seeking another term. Others vying for the two seats on this year’s ballot include Richard Bloom, Bill Colombo and Claudia Smith. Again, the two candidates with the most votes win the seats.

Zephyrhills will have two contested City Council seats. Incumbent Charlie Proctor looks to defend Seat 5 against William Seville. And Seat 3, held by Kenneth Compton, who did not file for re-election, is sought by Devin Alexander, Cory Sommers and Jodi Wilkeson.

Like Dade City, Pasco’s smallest cities — San Antonio and St. Leo — will have no elections. In San Antonio, Elayne Bassinger, Sarah Schrader and Eric Stallworth won seats, unopposed. In St. Leo, Donna DeWitt, James Hallett and Richard Christmas also kept their seats without contest.

Weather Center