tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018
  • Home

Tribune’s All-Pasco County Boys Basketball

First Team

Ethan Haslam, Academy at the Lakes, G, Jr.: Another solid season — averaged team-high 20.3 points and 7.1 rebounds — led the Wildcats back to the Class 2A region finals.

Lawrence Watt, Mitchell, G, Jr.: Averaged 15.6 points and 5.6 rebounds for the 22-6 Mustangs, one of the best teams in program history.

Tymere Carter, Anclote, F, Sr.: A versatile 6-foot-2 wing player did it all for the Sharks: Averaged 12.4 points, 9.3 rebounds and nearly three steals and blocks a game.

Jimmy Grubb, Gulf, F, Sr.: The power forward was a double-double machine, averaging more than 20 points a game.

John Childs, River Ridge, C, Sr.: At 6-foot-10, the county’s tallest player, and Saint Leo commit, averaged 16 points, 11.2 rebounds and 6.3 blocks.

Second Team

Joey Nickerson, Gulf, G, Sr.

Luke Calleja, Hudson, G, Sr.

Malik Hall, Academy at the Lakes, G, Sr.

Bernie Conley, Mitchell, F, Sr.

Marcus Hayne, Wesley Chapel, C, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Academy at the Lakes: Evan Gordy. Anclote: Willie Barrett, Shymere Carter, Hector Carabello. Bishop McLaughlin: Will Potosky, Andrew Scalabroni. Gulf: Andre Wilson. Hudson: Matt Johnson. Land O’ Lakes: Brandon Dorsey, Kevin Harris, Ethan Weilant, Tom Guglielmello. Mitchell: Sean Thompson, Zach Rapaport. Pasco: C.J. Brown, Christian Yann. Ridgewood: Chris Grant, Clarence Farria, Glass Wilson. River Ridge: Kyle McCoy. Sunlake: Jake Lambert, Justin Pipes, Nick Valdes. Wesley Chapel: Carson Emery, Brian Rodriguez. Wiregrass Ranch: Anthony Castillo, DJ Ward.

About The Team

The Tribune’s All-Pasco County boys basketball team was selected by correspondent Andy Villamarzo based on regular-season and postseason performances. The Sunshine Athletic Conference team selected by the county’s head coaches was strongly considered. The Players and Coaches of the Year will be announced at a later date.

Weather Center