tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Friday, May 25, 2018
  • Home

Tribune’s All-Hillsborough County Wrestling

First Team


106: Frankie Bruno, So., Brandon, 51-0 — The first of seven Brandon wrestlers to clinch a state title at this year’s Class 2A wrestling championships. Also the first of five Eagles to finish the season undefeated.

113: Kyle Norstrem, So., Brandon, 70-0 — Finished with the best record of any Hillsborough County wrestler, and, after winning his third state title as a sophomore, is in position to tie the state record of five titles, a feat that his brother, 2013 Brandon graduate Kevin Norstrem, accomplished last season.

120: Anthony Artalona, 8th, Tampa Prep, 42-6 — Dominant as an eighth-grader, and after winning a state title this year, is looking to become the first wrestler outside Brandon High to win five individual state titles.

120: Ty Lucas, Brandon, Fr., 46-4 — Lost state final 8-6 in overtime, but is favored to win three state titles the next three years.

126: James Flint, Sr., Brandon, 33-0 — Came back from a torn meniscus in his left knee on the first day of practice to go undefeated and win his fourth state title. One of the most inspiring comebacks in recent memory.

126: Donoven Hough, Jr., Tampa Prep, 42-4 — The two-time defending state champion lost a hard-fought 4-3 match in the Class 1A final against an outstanding opponent. A little break here or there and Hough would be a three-time defending state champion.

132: Dylan Lucas, Jr., Brandon, 67-0 — Arguably the Eagles’ most dominant wrestler this season after winning his fourth state title. State title No. 5 appears to be a highly likely scenario next year.


138: Devan Berrian, Sr., Brandon, 70-2 — Defeated Jesuit’s Adam Lewis 2-1 in the state final, which was one of the closest matches at the state championships.

138: Adam Lewis, So., Jesuit, 37-5 — Fought Berrian to the bitter end in the state final, before finally losing.

138: Leo Tarantino, 8th, Tampa Prep, 37-8 — Finished third in Class 1A, but lost 7-6 in double overtime to eventual state champion in state semifinals.

145: Troy Joyce, Jr., Brandon, 68-4 — Came within whisker of giving Brandon a record eight state individual champions in the same year, before losing 5-4 in the final.

152: Brian Buser, So., Jesuit, 51-8 — Another sound building block in the growing Jesuit program, which this year finished as state runner-up to Brandon.

160: Dakota Greene, Jr., Brandon, 69-1 — Lost once all season and won a state title.

170: Dontae McGee, Jr., Brandon, 58-0 — Perfect ending to a perfect season, with a hard-fought 8-7 victory in the state final.


182: Luis Peguero, Sr., Robinson, 48-1 — Peguero, who earned the state’s Russ Mauger Award for sportsmanship and leadership, lost one match all season, 3-1 in the state final. Peguero finished his last three years with a state title and two runners-up.

195: Nick Mosco, Fr., Jesuit, 31-4 — Look for Mosco to be a raging bull next season after finishing as state runner-up the past two years.

220: Robert Enmon, Jr., Brandon, 67-3 — Enmon fought hard all season, all the way through two overtimes in his final match this season to take third in Class 2A.

285: Austin Underwood, Sr., Jesuit, 35-0 — Smooth, strong and cool, Underwood was in a class by himself, dominating just about everybody he faced.

Honorable Mention

Alonso: Nathan Brantley (285); Armwood: Kyre Kelly (106), Kivaughn Rivera (220); Berkeley Prep: Brad Grundy (195); Blake: Charles Watts (170); Brandon: Tommy Fretwell (152), Joe Marcano (182), Bailey Shepherd (195); Chamberlain: Christian Morales (120), Triston Howe (152), Ben Beller (195), Robert Mosley (285); Citrus Park Christian: Bradley Bolesta (160); Durant: Austin Haley (120), Reagan Haley (132); East Bay: Ricky Calderon (182); Gaither: Krystian Velez (113); Nick Peschek (120); Hillsborough: Jacob West (113), Connor Knaver (160), Darius Wilson (170); Jesuit: Jarrett Roop (106), Anthony Zucco (113), RC Consuegra (126), Marc Iurato (160), John Mooney (182); King: Marcus Mosley (126), Chris Moore (138), Kyheen Campbell (182); Lennard: Evan Ratliff; Plant City: Lance Doenges (285); Riverview: Kizhan Clarke (120), Connor Barrick (195); Riverview: Conner Barrick (195); Robinson: Antonio Turner (106), Kionte Crocker (145), Kendonte Nichols (220); Sickles: Nick Adams (126), Jaimue Murcia (138), Andrew Martin (152), Anthony Legan (160), Nick Tyler (195); Steinbrenner: Ryan Schoel (132); Strawberry Crest: Amor McNamer (132); Tampa Bay Heat: Cullen Tefler (106), Noah Ridley (113); Tampa Prep: Aaron Mills (106), Landon Carter (132), Leo Tarantino (138).

About The Team

The Tampa Tribune’s All-Hillsborough county wrestling team was compiled by staff writer Scott Purks. The team is based on state tournament qualifiers with consideration to regional performances, all-conference teams as voted on by coaches, and coaches’ general input. The wrestler of the year and coach of the year will be announced at The Tribune’s annual Parade of Athletes banquet May 19.

Weather Center