tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Saturday, May 26, 2018
  • Home

Tribune’s All-Hillsborough County Flag Football

Player of the Year

Kylee Gorngpratum, Robinson

Named the Florida Dairy Farmers Player of the Year, Gorngpratum played different positions on both sides of the ball, leading the Knights with an unselfish style. She often was used at receiver and running back, but proved dangerous because she was a threat to run or throw. She finished with 1,090 total yards and 23 touchdowns. She also threw for 665 yards and 13 touchdowns. On defense, she had 12 interceptions, four of which she returned for scores.

Coach of the Year

Josh Saunders, Robinson

Few teams have dominated any sport the way Saunders’ team dominated this year. Robinson not only went 19-0 and won the state title, but it outscored opponents by a combined 662-18 with 16 shutouts. The state title game against Seminole Ridge got a little tight, but Saunders’ defense stood up in the end and pulled out the historic 7-6 victory.

First Team

Erin Dorsey, Robinson, Jr.: Threw 69 touchdown passes.

Kylee Gorngpratum, Robinson, Sr.: 1,090 total yards, 23 touchdowns, 12 interceptions.

Caroline King, Robinson, Sr.: 99 receptions, 863 yards with 11 interceptions.

Shawntelle Newsome, Armwood, Sr.: Led Hawks to 10-2 record.

Sydney Ross, Bloomingdale, Sr.: Multiple-sport star led Bulls to 11-1 record.

Madison Shelquist, Alonso, Sr.: Leader for state quarterfinalist.

Lindsey Walker, Alonso, Sr.: Equally effective on both sides of the ball.

Honorable Mention

Alonso: Leah Marcus, Jacqueline Tatcky. Armwood: Keindrea Ivory, Kiana King, Cyann Fox, Alexia Brown, Naomi Jackson. Bloomingdale: Alexandria Bistolfi, Olivia Harris, Katherine Forest, Lauren Buford, Alysa Welker. Brandon: Dajia Owens, Cece Gaddy. Chamberlain: Brianna Baker, Sarah Blagg, Nalyssa Negron, Amy Mardrazo. Durant: Ashley Piechowiak, Chrissy Millard, Jessica McCleman. East Bay: Madeline Hornacek, Michelle Rodriguez, Quiana Jean-Baptiste. Hillsborough: Hyquanteajya Carlton, Articia Brown. Jefferson: Khai Davidson, Alicia Jackson. Lennard: Julie Barrera. Newsome: Kelly Bishop, Gabriela Utroska. Plant: Payton Paro, Hannah Taylor, Kyauna King, Kira Zagare. Plant City: Samantha Black, Kelly Drake, Calaydria Callins. Robinson: Amanda Chromiak, Megan Bohan, Tiara Taylor. Sickles: Ciera Wheatley. Steinbrenner: Nicole Dorsey, Megan Hareschak, Alex Sikaryak. Strawberry Crest: Marviana Mackey, Amanda DaSilva, Alexis Gonzalez, Jordan Snapp. Tampa Bay Tech: Precious Roberts. Wharton: Aya Samhouri, Lexi Tyndall, Olivia Williams.

About The Team

The Tribune’s All-Hillsborough County flag football team was selected by staff writer Scott Purks based on regular-season and postseason results. The all-star team voted on by the county’s coaches was strongly considered.

Weather Center