tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Friday, May 25, 2018
  • Home

Tribune’s All-Hillsborough County Boys Soccer Team

First Team

Player Pos. School

Eric Lint F Newsome

Comment: The junior had a team-leading 26 goals and added six assists for the region finalists.

Blake Rehl F Hillsborough

Comment: Helped the Terriers to second straight district title, scoring 14 goals and adding seven assists.

Miguel Rudrejo F Carrollwood Day

Comment: The sophomore scored 31 goals and added nine assists leading the patriots to their first district title in program history and a region final berth.

Luke Gilcrease F/MF Cambridge Christian

Comment: The junior had 24 goals and 14 assists for a Lancers team that won 18 matches this season.

Austin Cobb MF Newsome

Comment: Combined to lead one of the county’s most dangerous attacks, scoring 23 goals for the Wolves.

Jake Van Der Luit MF Newsome

Comment: Despite missing nearly two months to an ankle injury, the speedy junior scored 15 goals in 12 games, including eight in the postseason.

Blake Wilson MF Steinbrenner

Comment: The Warriors offensive leader, the Georgia Southern signee scored 20 goals, adding six assists.

Michael Conlon D Jesuit

Comment: Most consistent player this season for the region finalist Tigers; also a dangerous weapon on set pieces with seven goals.

Connor Fitzgerald D Newsome

Comment: Led a defense that allowed less than one goal per match when he was at center back.

Kyle Dagostino D Berkeley Prep

Comment: The senior transitioned from forward to defender as the Buccaneers were slow to start, but finished strong reaching the Class 2A Final Four. He helped a defense that allowed just 10 goals in its final 10 matches.

Noah Keene D Steinbrenner

Comment: Big physical presence for a team that allowed less than one goal per match. He also scored seven goals.

Josh Rodriguez D Steinbrenner

Comment: A speedy defender, who added versatility to a defense for the region semifinalists while also scoring four goals.

Christian Knight GK Steinbrenner

Comment: Helped solidify the Warriors defense that allowed just 17 goals.

Second Team

Alan Hackney, F/MF, King

Nathaniel Rivas, F/MF, Cambridge Chr.

Michael Connell, MF, Steinbrenner

Quinton Kauchick, MF, Berkeley Prep

Marc Lozada, MF, Riverview

Matias Marchi, MF, Hillsborough

Jacob Vila, MF, Jesuit

Michael Spezza, MF, Tampa Prep

Warren Backman, D, Berkeley Prep

John Frost, D, Carrollwood Day

Brett Wilcosz, D, Steinbrenner

Zach Yarish, D, Steinbrenner

Ryan Cooper, GK, Sickles

Honorable Mention

Alonso: Marcus Silva. Armwood: Luis Tolentino. Berkeley Prep: Zack Copper, Lance Esposito, Austin Iglehart, Georgios Karides, Andrew Kenny, Ben Milliken. Brandon: Sebastian Acevedo, Randy Chesson, Dylan Dyer, Patrick Feehan, Carlos Lopez, Ryan Chesson. Cambridge Christian: Ramiro Mendoza, Christian Olvey, Andrew Pivocek. Carrollwood Day: Greg Klug, Spencer Peek. Chamberlain: Caleb George. East Bay: Tyler Jaworski. Freedom: Chandler Howe, Ben Wasserman. Gaither: Jonathan Dasilva. Hillsborough: Tim Elko, Jean Roy Baptiste. Jefferson: Jefry Diaz. Jesuit: Trevor Brown, Connar Lufkin, Lucas Schmeling, Jacob Starnes. King: David Ellis, Nate Johnson, Josh Kartheiser, Michael McElroy, Grant Owens, Alexis Quezada. Lennard: Rene Garcia, Kris Ospina, Ellis Shaw, Emmanuel Zamudio. Leto: Miguel Garcia. Middleton: Roshoy Woodstock. Newsome: Jacob Chadwell, Nick Kallianiotis, Ricardo Vazquez. Plant: Seth Rinkevich, James Taika, Zach Thompson. Riverview: Cristian Cadavid, Charlie Stephens, Jacob Wendel. Robinson: Ryan Tahiri. Sickles: John Chapman, Garrett Dunton, Nate Schmidt. Steinbrenner: Austin Labban, Andres Saenz. Strawberry Crest: Aldair Morales, Zach Owens-Smith. Tampa Prep: Oscar Skjaerpe. Wharton: Lamont DeLeroy, Phillipe Patino.

About The Team

The Tribune’s All-Hillsborough County Boys Soccer Team was selected by correspondent Jarrett Guthrie based on regular-season and postseason performances. The various all-conference teams selected by the county’s coaches were strongly considered. The Tribune’s player and coach of the year will be announced at the annual Parade of Athletes banquet on May 19.

Weather Center