tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
  • Home

Tribune All-Hillsborough Lacrosse Boys Team

BOYS Player of the Year

Noah Menendez, Jesuit

Menendez, a faceoff midfielder, led Jesuit to a district runner-up finish while scoring 30 goals and adding 20 assists. He won 80 percent of faceoffs and has signed to play at the University of Tampa.

Coach of the Year

John Shaw, Plant

Plant advanced to the second round of the state championships, farther than any boys team in the county, and captured a district title, avenging a regular-season loss to Jesuit in the district title game.

First Team

Stuart Brannan, Plant, Sr., attacker: Panthers’ leader in total points with 42 goals and 12 assists.

Nate Bleckley, Wharton, So., attacker: First-team Western Conference selection among county’s top young stars.

Jackson Costello, Tampa Catholic, Jr., attacker: Led Crusaders in scoring (44 goals), assists (21) and ground balls (33).

Stephano Mastro, Jesuit, Jr., attacker: Though he missed some games, he finished with 24 goals and 27 assists.

Julian Taylor, Plant, Sr., midfield: HALAX Male Player of the Year and Western Conference Player of the Year scored 41 goals for district champions.

Noah Menendez, Jesuit, Sr., faceoff midfield: Led Tigers with 30 goals with 20 assists and had 80 faceoff percentage.

Zach Salazar, Tampa Bay Tech, Sr., midfield: One of state’s top scorers with 55 goals.

Grant Preston, Plant, Sr., defender: Anchored Plant’s defense with 18 takeaways and 22 ground balls.

Joe Gugino, Newsome, Sr., defender: Top defender for district championship squad.

Mike Myers, Wharton, Sr., defender: Assigned to opposing team’s top players was Western Conference first-team selection

Colby Blackburn, Newsome, So., goalie: In the net, helped team win district title and was Western Conference first-team selection.

Bennett Taylor, Plant, So., long stick midfield: Finished with team-high 36 takeaways and 91 ground balls.

Honorable Mention

Alonso: Chandler Bernard, Brandon Quinones, Jesse Scholpp, Mike Masters, Dalton Sheppard. Berkeley Prep: Steven Augustine, Teddy Mortonson, George Lewis, Nick Ludy, Zach Whitcomb. Durant: Robert Sequin, Jordan Jolly. Freedom: Justin Ogilby, Alex Hessler, Justin Kilker, Ryan Cusick. Jesuit: Jackson Parisey, Michael McHale, Austin Curtis, Cary Brown, Peyton Elliott, Daniel Scarpinato. Newsome: Matt Amarorso, Kyle Rintoul, Ross Patrick, Bryce Likeret, Tim Green. Plant: Enrique Marnotes, Jackson Misner, Sean McClellan, Christian Chambers. Robinson: Alex Wilsey, Justin Fontes, Jonathan Lanci. Steinbrenner: Landon Howard, AJ Ransdell, Brandon Noriega, Matt Gwilt, D’lexus Carter, James Cowan, Rick Melvin. Tampa Catholic: TJ Koontz, Ben Sexton, Jake Romp. Tampa Prep: Wesley Schlemmer. Wharton: Jeff Keil, Mark Munzo, James Davison, Matt Bleckley, Devin Cannata.

About The Team

The Tribune’s All-County Boys Lacrosse Team was selected by staff writers Scott Purks and Nick Williams based on regular- and postseason performances. The all-conference team selected by the coaches of the public schools was strongly considered.

Weather Center