tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018
  • Home

Tampa Tribune’s All-Hillsborough County Softball Team

The Tribune’s All-County Softball Team was selected by staff writer Nick Williams based on regular- and postseason performances. The all-conference team selected by the coaches of the public schools was strongly considered.


Player of the Year

Lace Smith, Bloomingdale

Smith led the Bulls to the Class 8A championship, the program’s first state title since 1993, with a county-leading 293 strikeouts to go with a 0.79 ERA and 25-2 record. Smith, voted the 8A Player of the Year, making her a finalist for Miss Softball, also batted .350 with 23 RBIs.


Coach of the Year

Mandy Schuerman, Bloomingdale

In just her first season as head coach, Schuerman guided the Bulls to a 28-3 record and the Class 8A state championship, the program’s first state title since 1993. Schuerman was named the state’s top softball coach by Florida Dairy Farmers, making her the first in Hillsborough County to receive the award.


First Team

Shannon Bell, Durant, Sr., OF: Clutch hitter led region finalist with 45 RBIs and had 35 hits, including six home runs.

Izzy Ordorica, Chamberlain, Sr., OF: UCLA-signee batted .442 with 34 hits and perfect fielding percentage for state semifinalist.

Cacey Simmons, Strawberry Crest, Sr., OF: Chargers’ leader in hits (38) and RBIs (29).

Elizabeth Diaz, Chamberlain, Sr., INF: Saint Leo University-bound first baseman was Chiefs’ top slugger with 37 RBIs.

Megan Reed, Strawberry Crest, Sr., INF: Future Florida Gator had nine home runs and 28 RBIs.

Jessica Warren, Alonso, Sr., INF: Jack and Barbara Thompson Softball Player of the Year led team to district title with 49 hits, 48 runs and 33 RBIs.

Elizabeth Jackson, Bloomingdale, Jr., INF: Arkansas commit led state champion in hits (38) and runs (24).

Kristin Hoover, Berkeley Prep, Sr., DH: Cal-Berkeley signee batted .612 with 41 hits and led county with 16 home runs.

Alea White, Cambridge Christian, So., UTL: Batted .629 with 39 hits and struck out 245 with six shutouts.

Mia Fung, Strawberry Crest, Sr., C: USF-bound catcher batted .440 with 37 hits and 38 runs.

Lace Smith, Bloomingdale, Jr., P: University at Buffalo commit led county with 293 strikeouts and 0.79 ERA.

Sammy Tyler, Strawberry Crest, Sr., P: Saint Leo University commit went 13-5 with 139 K’s.

Nicole Lopez, Jefferson, Sr., P: Led Dragons to first district title and playoff win with 14-3 record and 164 K’s.

Kayla Maxwell, Alonso, Sr., P: University of Houston signee helped Ravens win first district title with 17-3 record.


Second Team

Emily Small, Tampa Catholic, Jr., OF

Justine Fernandez, Jefferson, Jr., OF

Rachel Carlson, Freedom, Sr., OF

Bethany Kursch, Gaither, So., INF

Lauren Williams, Chamberlain, Jr., INF

Jenna Brownell, Chamberlain, Jr., INF

Emma Frost, Carrollwood Day, Fr., INF

Amanda Rose, Carrollwood Day, Sr., UTL

Hope Hernandez, Chamberlain, Fr., DH

Elizabeth Mason, Gaither, So., C

Sammi Grat, Gaither, So., P

Olivia Dwyer, Chamberlain, So., P

Mak Dooley, Wharton, Jr., P

Noelle Dietrich, Plant City, Jr., P


Honorable Mention

Academy of the Holy Names: Julia Schifino, Brittany Bramwell, Sydney Coleman. Alonso: Elly Pillers, Megan Wetzel. Berkeley Prep: Mckenzie Ward, Arielle Glass. Blake: Amanda Weathers, Marrissa Hernandez. Bloomingdale: Taylor Engman, Samantha Selden, Kayleigh Walters, Darby Bernaldo. Brandon: Kristen Willig. Cambridge Christian: Megan Rygiel, Vivica Smith. Carollwood Day: Emalee Jansen, Samantha Fest, Savannah Bennett. Durant: Kelli Tidwell, Brooke Freeman, Morgan Slater, Sloan Hammons. East Bay: Madison Culver, Taylor Baker, Amber Hess. Freedom: Maddy Hall, Grace Street, Gracie Seidl. Gaither: Alex Robbins. Hillsborough: Jamie Bevins, Chelsie Murphy, Lumiere Rostick. Jefferson: Natalia Rivera. Leto: Adriana Jones, Marcella Parrado, Alexis Guther. Middleton: Gabriela Trejo. Newsome: Claire Feldman, Hannah Pridemore. Plant: Megan Przeslawski. Plant City: Emily Register, Kacie Booth. Riverview: Peyton Moritz, Kaitlyn McMillan, Lizzie Gauthier. Robinson: Caitelyn Herrera, Amanda Crosby, Samantha Conlan, Brandea Rafferty. Seffner Christian: Anna Wellen, Tiffani Linville. Sickles: Giselle Anderson, Chelsea Armstrong. Steinbrenner: Erica Serafini, Daniela Bautista. Strawberry Crest: Aly Masessa, Sarah Rowley. Tampa Catholic: Jennifer Rogers, Cristina Clauberg. Wharton: Nicole Dixon.

Weather Center