TBO.com: Tampa Bay Online, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather.
Saturday, Feb 06, 2016

Prep athletes honored with scholarships

The first “Heart of a Champion’’ scholarships were awarded Wednesday night at a ceremony at the A La Carte Pavilion.

The $1,000 scholarships were presented to a male and female athlete from each of Hillsborough County’s 27 public high schools and also to six private schools.

The scholarships, provided by Bob Gries Jr., recognize young athletes in the Tampa Bay community who have demonstrated what “heart” is all about.

Here is a list of those honored:

Academy of the Holy Names: Amanda Schifino

Alonso: Brandon Hawkins, Erin Brzezinski

Armwood: Nick Feely, Jada Spano

Berkeley Prep: Chris Williams, Corey Salzer

Blake: Raymond Price-Murray II, Le’Area Wilkerson

Bloomingdale: James Wiehle, Annie Barrett

Brandon: Kevin Norstrem, Jaida Lee

Brooks-DeBartolo: Brenden Rivera, Markesh Thomas

Chamberlain: Trajan Rodriguez, Lindsey Hagberg

Durant: Ryan Sullivan, Sydney Robinson

East Bay: Michael Riley, Nicole Lock

Freedom: Zachary Romp, Sandra Akachukwu

Gaither: Ja’mari Cord, Daisy Santos

Hillsborough: Jeremiah Green, Malikah Nash

Jefferson: Robert Portugues, Kayla Cassato

Jesuit: J.J. Weir

King: Eric Chao, Carroll Hardy

Lennard: Tyler Sierra, Jessica Langrud

Leto: Taylor MacDougall, Michelle Jimenez

Middleton: Marcelino Medermos, Allease Riggins

Newsome: Lars Benner, Brianna Jackson

Plant: Kyle Groh, Emma Donahue, Caroline Gibson

Plant City: Dillon Kirkland, Savannah Lawson

Riverview: Tyler Downey, Kaitlyn Killebrew

Robinson: Richard Yau, Deliah Autry

Sickles: Zainelabdin Fator, Sarah Hartman

Spoto: Christopher Cioffi, Kyria Perez-Serrano

Steinbrenner: Tyler Bess-Lima, Justice Thigpen

Strawberry Crest: Matthew Orberle, Megan Reed

Tampa Catholic: Brian Stepanski, Sheila Ramos, Carissa Mastrorio

Tampa Prep: Adam Pearlman, Kathryn Krueger

Tampa Bay Tech: Jamaruz Thomkins, Sydney Bexley

Wharton: Jackson Fuchs, Samantha Lawrence

Subscribe to The Tampa Tribune