tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018
  • Home

Hawks put five on 6A All-State first team

TAMPA — The Tampa Bay area has a reputation for producing talented high school football players.

That was reaffirmed Monday with several players from Hillsborough, Pasco and Pinellas counties being named to the Associated Press All-State teams.

Armwood, the 2013 Class 6A runner-up and highest-ranked team in the Tampa area, had five players make the 6A first team, including four defensive players.

From Armwood’s dominant defense were highly regarded junior defensive lineman Byron Cowart, senior safety Kyle Gibson, junior linebacker Jordan Griffin and junior defensive back Aaron Covington. Armwood junior Sterling Hofrichter was the 6A first-team kicker.

Jefferson senior quarterback Deiondre Porter, who led the area in passing and all-purpose yards with 3,199 passing yards and 33 touchdowns, and 1,499 rushing yards and 20 touchdowns, was named 6A first-team quarterback.

Plant, an 8A state semifinalist, had two first-team selections in Texas commit and senior linebacker Andrew Beck and highly ranked junior offensive lineman Jake Fruhmorgen.

Plant senior lineman Richard Bush and senior receiver Alexander Jackson were named to the second-team offense, along with Alonso lineman Gary Brown.

Sickles junior running back Ray Ray McCloud III, Hillsborough County’s leading rusher with 2,316 yards and 26 touchdowns, was a 7A first-teamer, along with teammates Josh Black (defense) and Zach Hudson (offense), Plant City All-American offensive lineman Montel McBride and defensive end John Broome, and Artavis Scott (offense), Mason Cole (offense) and Devin Abraham (defense) of 7A state semifinalist East Lake.

Lakewood All-American offensive lineman Isaiah Wynn, Jesuit kicker Rhett Waldron and Gibbs’ Maurice Hall (utility) were the lone Tampa Bay selections to the 5A first team.

Devin Brockington, a senior defensive back at Zephyrhills, received the highest honor of any Pasco County player by making the 5A second team. Malik Johns, Pasco’s two-way star, was a 5A third-team selection.

Defensive end Justus Reed and linebacker Canaan Brown were the lone members from Clearwater Central Catholic’s state runner-up team to be selected to the 3A first team, along with Tampa Catholic All-American offensive lineman Corey Martinez, who is committed to Florida State, and two-way standout TJ Harrell, also from TC.

Carrollwood Day junior receiver Michael Smith was 2A first-team selection, while Cambridge Christian’s Trevor Smith was the 2A first-team punter.

[email protected]

(813) 259-7305

Twitter: @NickWilliamsTBO

Weather Center