tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Thursday, Sep 21, 2017
  • Home
Home Team

Girls soccer: Tribune's All-Hillsborough County Team

First Team F -- Taylor DeCaire, Jr., Newsome: Led the Wolves with 17 goals behind her tremendous speed and ability to break away from defenders. F -- Cici Gonzalez, Sr., Steinbrenner: The University of Tampa signee had a team-leading 16 goals for the Class 4A region semifinalists. F -- Colby Maffei, Sr., Tampa Prep: A four-year, All-Hillsborough County first-teamer, the Louisiana State University commit scored a county leading 52 goals and added 19 assists for the Class 1A region finalists.
F -- Abby Meckley, Sr., Plant: The Panthers scoring leader with 20 goals was also the leader for a team that went 15-1-1 in the regular season. MF -- Caroline Bado, Jr., Plant: The engine that drove the Panthers, she is a physical worker who had eight goals and six assists while running the midfield. MF/D -- Alyssa Bryant, Sr., Tampa Prep: Maybe the Terrapins' best athlete and certainly the most versatile, the senior spent time at forward, midfielder and defender this year scoring 17 goals and seven assists. MF -- Emily Jones, Jr., Newsome: Made the key switch from defense to midfield this season and showed off her ability to score with either foot adding 11goals and six assists. D -- Emily Belanger, Sr., Wharton: The Wildcats captain and Emory and Henry College commit anchored a solid defense, was an on-field leader throughout her career and was a part of the senior class with the most wins in school history. D -- Miranda Gonzalez, So., Steinbrenner: A lot of attention has been paid to the Warriors offense, but the defense highlighted by the younger Gonzalez helped the team to its third district title in the school's first three years. D -- Karli Gutsche, Fr., Newsome: The Wolves sweeper was outstanding in her freshman season for a defense that only allowed 14 goals, while she also added seven goals to the offense. D -- Jackie Simpson, Sr., Newsome: The Wolves defensive anchor for the past three seasons, the University of South Florida commit's physical play has been a big part of the team's success. GK -- Emily Ball, Sr., Freedom: The University of South Carolina commit will be sorely missed as she has been the key defensive weapon for a team that has made the region tournament the last three seasons. Second Team Pos. – Player;Cl.;School F -- Liz Haumschild, Sr., Newsome F/MF -- Ericka Lott, So., Plant City MF -- Leah Chisolm-Allison, Jr., Wharton MF -- Caroline Evers, Sr., Newsome MF -- Taylor Meek, So., Gaither MF -- Taylor Valley, Sr., Steinbrenner D/MF -- Alexandra Daley, So., Tampa Prep D -- Sienna Brooks, Sr., Sickles D -- Brittany Coca, Jr., Bloomingdale D -- Elyse Fontecchio, Jr., Bloomingdale D -- Ruth Seleznik, Sr., Robinson GK -- Melissa Jasczak, Sr., Bloomingdale Honorable Mention Alonso: Melanie Gonzalez, Kaytie Layton, Victoria Lesser. Bloomingdale: Rebecca Oser, Sierra Segal. Durant: Shaylyn Corgan. East Bay: Yasmine Bailie, Jahia Owens. Freedom: Alyssa Daniello, Alessandra Diioia, Jenna Stiling, Leah Stiling. Gaither: Lexi Bubley, Kaycee McGuire. Hillsborough: Nicole Davis, Alisha Espinosa. Middleton: Christina Perrella. Newsome: Alexis Smith. Plant City: Kelly Brown, Ashley Copen, Diane Corzine, Stephanie Galloway, Tori Nizamoff. Plant: Charlsey Greiwe, Jayne Hagan, Kara Looby, Sophie Sanchez. Riverview: Ebony Campbell, Shelby Larson. Robinson: Sam Ishee, Caroline King, Lauren Osiro, Charlotte Rothschild. Sickles: Brianna Hamson, Alexis Rodriguez, D'Andre Williams, Dominique Williams. Steinbrenner: Alexis Bredeau, Stephanie Hirsch, Marley Opila. Strawberry Crest: Bibi Ramirez. Tampa Prep: Abby Bravo, Emmarose Glaser, Spenser Hollar, Carly Reiner, Alexa Steele-Weintraub, Evvy Walker, Bishop Weaver. Wharton: Ashni Deschenes, Baylee Dozark, Laura Johnson, Erin Kocher, Bianca Lorenzo, Brittany McNickle, Heather Montgomery. About The Team The Tribune's All-Hillsborough County girls soccer team was selected by special correspondent Jarrett Guthrie based on regular-season and postseason performances. The various all-conference teams selected by the county's head coaches were strongly considered. The Tribune's player and coach of the year will be announced at the annual Parade of Athletes banquet on May 21.
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP