tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Thursday, Apr 26, 2018
  • Home

Gaddis, Gray honored at TBBCA banquet

TAMPA — Lennard High’s Danny Gaddis was voted by his peers as the 2013-14 Tampa Bay Basketball Coaches Association’s Doug Walker Coach of the Year at the organization’s yearly banquet Tuesday at the Tampa Performing Arts Center.

Gaddis guided the Longhorns to the Class 6A state semifinals, the furthest of any team, in any sport, in school history.

Lennard was also named Team of the Year at the banquet.

Other award winners included Justin Gray being named Player of the Year. Gray, who last week accepted the Alston “Mac” McGahagin Boys Basketball Player of the Year Award, led Berkeley Prep to the 4A state semifinals. Gray has signed with Texas Tech.

Freedom coach Cedric Smith was given the William Bethel Award, named after the former Middleton coach and given to a coach whose team exceeded expectations. Smith helped the Patriots advance to the 7A region final.

The Brandon boys basketball team received the Heart of A Champion Award. The Eagles reached the state region playoffs this season while mourning the loss of senior forward Milo Meeks, who died unexpectedly last September a day after collapsing while running with the team on the school’s track.

Other Awards

Theron Barkley: West Coast Official of the Year; Academic All-Stars: Justin Gray, N’Namdi Green (Berkeley Prep); Cody Brown (Robinson); Andrew Sanders, Trevor Coulter (Plant); Roderick Davis (Brandon); Kyle Sahlsten (Jesuit); George Brammeier, Jake Baer (Bloomingdale); Brenden Huynh (Brooks-DeBartolo); and Scott Sollazzo (Wharton).

Weather Center