tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Monday, Jun 18, 2018
  • Home
Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning’s Marty St. Louis wins Lady Byng Award

TAMPA - Marty St. Louis will need to clear more space on the mantle holding the hardware accumulated throughout his career. St. Louis was named the winner of the Lady Byng Award for the 2013 season, marking the third time in the past four seasons he has won the award recognizing gentlemanly play. The announcement was made on Friday as the NHL unveiled a handful of award winners from Chicago, site of the first two games of the Stanley Cup final between the Blackhawks and the Boston Bruins. St. Louis was chosen from among three finalists, which included Chicago’s Patrick Kane and the New York Islanders’ Matt Moulson. The Lady Byng is awarded to the player “adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.’’
St. Louis had a league-high 60 points with just 14 penalty minutes. He received 47 first-place votes – three more than Kane – and totaled 824 points to 785 for Kane, who finished second. Being a father of three, he figures he has a good teaching tool at home anytime he tries to settle those sibling squabbles. “Having three kids, I can talk about sportsmanship all the time and I have credibility now,’’ St. Louis said. He also won the Lady Byng in 2009-10 and 2010-11. St. Louis, who won the Art Ross Trophy as the league’s leading scorer, ranked second in the league in ice time among forwards during the 48-game season shortened by the lockout. The 37-year-old now owns three Lady Byng trophies, two Art Ross awards, a Hart Trophy as league MVP in 2004 and a Lester Pearson award given to the top player, as voted by the players, in 2004, as well as a Stanley Cup champion. St. Louis is also a finalist this season for the Ted Lindsay Award, formerly the Pearson, which will be announced Saturday prior to the start of Game 2 between Chicago and Boston. As St. Louis gets deeper into his career, adding trophies to his mantle becomes more cherished. “When you win your first trophy, it’s always special,” he said. “And I’m honored and flattered to be on those trophies, especially this year. Nobody can take it away from you. When I’m done playing they will say, ‘Stanley Cup champion, X-number all star, Lady Byng,’ all of that. It’s nice. Those things that you can pick up as you go along in your career, it’s kind of cool. I’m excited.’’ Lightning defenseman Matt Carle finished 19th in the Byng voting, receiving one first-place vote, one second-place vote, three fourth-place votes and a fifth-place vote. Steven Stamkos received two fifth-place votes for the Byng. Tampa Bay center Nate Thompson was the only Lightning player to receive a vote for the Selke Award as the top defensive forward, receiving one fifth-place vote.

[email protected]

(813) 259-7835

Twitter: @erlendssonTBO

Weather Center