tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2018
  • Home
Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning coach Cooper a finalist for Adams Award

— Tampa Bay Lightning head coach Jon Cooper has been named one of three finalists for the Jack Adams Award as coach of the year.

Detroit’s Mike Babcock and Colorado’s Patrick Roy are the other two finalists. The winner will be named at the NHL Awards show in Las Vegas on June 24.

The award is voted on by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

In his first full season behind the Lightning bench, Cooper led Tampa Bay to a second-place finish in the Atlantic Division with a record of 46-27-9 for 101 points, the third time in franchise history the Lightning finished above the 100-point mark. Tampa Bay also tied a franchise record with 46 victories and 25 home wins despite the loss of two-time Rocket Richard Trophy-winner Steven Stamkos for 45 games with a broken leg sustained Nov. 11 and the trade demand of former captain Marty St. Louis.

Tampa Bay’s roster also featured a handful of NHL rookies, including Tyler Johnson and Ondrej Palat, both finalists for the Calder Trophy awarded to the rookie of the year, as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

“We know what a great job Jon has done for our organization, what he did for our team this year, the way our team played,’’ general manager Steve Yzerman said. “I’m really happy for him that people recognized that he did really good job with the team.’’

Cooper is the fourth member of the Ligtning to be named a finalist for an NHL Award, joning Ben Bishop, who is a finalist for the Vezina Trophy as the top goaltender, and Johnson and Palat.

[email protected]

(813) 259-7835

twitter: @erlendssonTBO

Weather Center