TBO.com: Tampa Bay Online, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather.
Thursday, Feb 11, 2016

Encompass Insurance Pro-Am facts and figures

For the eighth consecutive year, this event will utilize a professional-celebrity/amateur format unique to the Champions Tour.

The Field

Michael Allen

Tommy Armour III

Andy Bean

Chip Beck

Jay Don Blake

Mark Brooks

Olin Browne

Brad Bryant

Mark Calcavecchia

Jim Carter

Bobby Clampett

Russ Cochran

John Cook

Allen Doyle

David Eger

Brad Faxon

Keith Fergus

Bruce Fleisher

Dan Forsman

Robin Freeman

David Frost

Jim Gallagher, Jr.

Bob Gilder

Bill Glasson

Mike Goodes

Jay Haas

Walter Hall

Gary Hallberg

Jeff Hart

Morris Hatalsky

P.H. Horgan III

John Huston

Hale Irwin

John Jacobs

Peter Jacobsen

Tom Jenkins

Tom Kite

Gary Koch

Bernhard Langer

Wayne Levi

J.L. Lewis

Steve Lowery

Chien Soon Lu

Sandy Lyle

Roger Maltbie

Graham Marsh

Mike McCullough

Mark McNulty

Larry Mize

Mark Mouland

Larry Nelson

Andy North

Mark O'Meara

Steve Pate

Corey Pavin

David Peoples

Kenny Perry

Nick Price

Tom Purtzer

Dana Quigley

Mike Reid

Loren Roberts

Jim Rutledge

Ted Schulz

Peter Senior

Scott Simpson

Joey Sindelar

Sonny Skinner

Jeff Sluman

Rod Spittle

Craig Stadler

Curtis Strange

Hal Sutton

Jim Thorpe

Kirk Triplett

Bob Tway

Bobby Wadkins

Tom Watson

D.A. Weibring

Mark Wiebe

Fuzzy Zoeller

Participating Celebrities

Rondé Barber

Derrick Brooks

Stone Phillips

John O'Hurley

Joe Theismann

Phil Esposito

Fred McGriff

Rick Pitino

Winners at TPC Tampa Bay

Year - Player; Score

2011 - John Cook; -9*

2010 - Bernhard Langer; -9**

2009 - Nick Price; -9

2008 - Tom Watson; -9

2007 - Tom Watson; -2

2006 - Jerry Pate; -11

2005 - Hale Irwin; -6**

2004 - Mark McNulty; -13

2003 - Bruce Fleisher; -8

2002 - Doug Tewell; -10

2001 - Bob Gilder; -8

2000 - Bruce Fleisher; -13

1999 - Larry Nelson; -8

1998 - Jim Albus; -6

1997 - David Graham; -9

1996 - Jack Nicklaus; -2

1995 - Dave Stockton; -9

1994 - Rocky Thompson; -12

1993 - Jim Albus; -7

1992 - Jim Colbert; -13*


**-weather-shortened to 36 holes

Note: The first four years of the tournament (1988-91) were played at Tampa Palms Country Club.

Just the Facts

WHEN: Friday-Sunday

WHERE: TPC Tampa Bay, Lutz

TV: Friday-Golf Channel, 12:30-2:30 p.m.; Saturday-Golf Channel, 6:30-9:30 p.m.; Sunday-Golf Channel, 7-9:30 p.m.

LENGTH/PAR: 6,828 yards/71

FIELD: 81 players

FORMAT: 54-hole stroke play event with no cut. Friday-Saturday play will feature one amateur with one professional in a team better-ball format. Low 16 pro-am teams play on Sunday.

PURSE: $1.6 million

WINNER'S SHARE: $240,000

TICKET PRICES: $30 single-day pass, $70 weekly badge

By the Numbers

$118 million: Contributions by the PGA Tour to charity in 2011.

18: Number of players in this year's field who have won major championships on the PGA Tour.

Drought for Jay Haas in the state of Florida in his Tour career, including an 0-for-21 mark on the Champions Tour.

Subscribe to The Tampa Tribune