tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Sunday, Oct 22, 2017
  • Home

UT's Catanach named SSC Volleyball Coach of Year

University of Tampa volleyball coach Chris Catanach was named the Sunshine State Conference Coach of the Year as five Spartans players were named to the 2010 All-Sunshine State Conference Volleyball Team. Tampa middle hitter Danielle Selkridge, setter Meghan Sherman and outside hitter Melissa Vanderhall were first-team selections, and outside hitter Kaleigh Cunningham and libero Julie Howlett were named to the second team. Catanach collected his 15th SSC Coach of the Year award after leading Tampa to its 20th conference title and sixth straight. Ranked No. 2 in the latest AVCA DII coaches poll, his Spartans have not lost a match since Sept. 25, reeling off 16 consecutive wins.

Barry's Julia Teixeira was selected Player of the Year and Rollins' Megan Hodges was named Freshman of the Year. Middle blocker Danielle Bletso and outside hitter Bruna Rocha of Saint Leo made the second team.
Named to the All-Freshman Team were outside hitter Lindsay Biggs of Eckerd and setter Jaclyn Mailoto of Saint Leo.
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP