tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
  • Home
USF Bulls

USF football to be in AAC East Division in 2015

The University of South Florida football program was assigned to the American Athletic Conference’s East Division, beginning with the 2015 season, the league announced Friday at its annual meetings in Key Biscayne.

When Navy is added in 2015, the 12-team AAC will split into two six-team divisions and hold a league championship game.

USF is joined in the East by UCF, Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina and Temple. The West Division includes Houston, Memphis, Navy, SMU, Tulane and Tulsa.

Each team will play an eight-game league schedule, facing each of its division opponents along with three teams from the opposite division. That fomat ensures teams will face each conference opponent at home and on the road at least once in a four-year cycle.

Division winners will play for the AAC title at the home site of the highest-ranked divisional champion.

Weather Center