tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Thursday, Jun 21, 2018
  • Home

Goodbye to BCS; hello to College Football Playoff

PASADENA, Calif. - The Bowl Championship Series will be replaced by the College Football Playoff. The new name for the four-team playoff that starts after the 2014 regular season was announced Tuesday by conference commissioners, who are holding three days of meetings in the Rose Bowl’s back yard. They also will choose the remaining three sites for the six-bowl semifinal rotation in the new system, along with the site of the first championship game to be held Jan. 12, 2015. The new postseason format will create two national semifinals to be played New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day, with the winners advancing. The six bowls in the playoff rotation will host marquee, BCS-type games on New Year’s Eve or New Year’s day during the seasons they do not host a semifinal.
Three semifinal spots have already been decided: the Rose, Orange and Sugar bowls. Four other bowls have bid for the other three spots. The clear front-runners are the Cotton, Chick-fil-A and Fiesta, with the Holiday Bowl in San Diego a long shot at best. Those decisions will be announced today. The first semifinals will be played at the Rose and Sugar bowls. The site of the first national championship game in the new system will also be determined at these meetings and the finalists are Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, the billion dollar home of the NFL team and the Cotton Bowl, and Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, home of the Buccaneers. Arlington is the heavy favorite to land that first championship game.
Weather Center