tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Monday, Oct 23, 2017
  • Home

FSU, UM each place 2 on preseason all-ACC team

Florida State linebacker Dekoda Watson and guard Rodney Hudson joined Miami kicker Matt Bosher and tackle Jason Fox on the preseason All-ACC team, annnounced today by the league. Georgia Tech running back Jonathan Dwyer, who is seeking to become the league's first two-time Player of the Year since 1992-93, led all candidates with 41 votes cast by the league's media. Dwyer averaged 107 rushing yards per game last season in the Yellow Jackets' triple-option spread offense. C.J. Spiller of Clemson was selected as running back and as a specialist. In 2008, he placed 14th nationally in kickoff-return average at 27 yards an attempt. Bosher made 18 of 20 field goals last season for UM, earning second-team All-ACC honors last season. Hudson was named to the 2009 Lombardi Trophy watch list and Watson made 28 tackles in the Seminoles' final four regular-season games last year.
Media members attending the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Football Kickoff in Greenboro, N.C., last week cast 44 ballots for the team. Here is the team: OFFENSE QB - Russell Wilson, N.C. State RB - Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech; C.J. Spiller, Clemson WR - Demaryius Thomas, Georgia Tech; Jacoby Ford, Clemson TE - Greg Boone, Virginia Tech OT- Jason Fox, Miami; Anthony Castonzo, Boston College OG - Sergio Render, Virginia Tech; Rodney Hudson, Florida State C - Matt Tennant, Boston College PK - Matt Bosher, Miami DEFENSE DE - Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech; Willie Young, N.C. State DT - Vince Oghobaase, Duke; Marvin Austin, North Carolina LB - Dekoda Watson, Florida State; Quan Sturdivant, North Carolina; Alex Wujciak, Maryland CB - Rasi-I Dowling, Virginia; Kendric Burney, North Carolina S - Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech; Kam Chancellor, Virginia Tech P - Travis Baltz, Maryland Specialist - C.J. Spiller, Clemson
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP