tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2018
  • Home
Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Former Bucs Lynch, Sapp nominated for football hall

CANTON, Ohio — Former Tampa Bay Buccaneers John Lynch, Warren Sapp and Keenan McCardell, who helped lead the team to victory in Super Bowl XXXVII, are among 13 first-year eligible players for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Safety Lynch played in the NFL for 15 seasons, from 1993-2007, the first 11 for Tampa Bay. He went to nine Pro Bowls, and was named to the Associated Press, Pro Football Weekly, Pro Football Writers and Sporting News first teams in his rookie year. Defensive tackle Sapp played in the NFL for 13 years, from 1995-2007, the first nine with the Bucs. He was named to seven Pro Bowls, and selected the 1999 NFL Defensive Player of the Year. Wide receiver Keenan McCardell was a two-time Pro Bowl selection and also played for the Washington Redskins when they won Super Bowl XXVI.
Other former Bucs on the ballot include receiver Tim Brown, wide receiver Keyshawn Johnson, offensive lineman Lomas Brown, defensive lineman Dexter Manley, defensive back Joey Browner and kicker Sean Landeta. Other first-time nominees defensive end Michael Strahan, quarterback Steve McNair and kicker Morten Andersen join offensive linemen Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen, and 121 other total nominees for induction. The list will be whittled to 25 semifinalists in late November. Fifteen finalists from the modern era will be announced in early January, with elections taking place Feb. 2, 2013, the day before the Super Bowl. Between four and seven new members will be selected, with inductions next August. Other first-time nominees are running back Priest Holmes, , center Tom Nalen, DTs Sam Adams and Ted Washington and DE Bryant Young. Among the contributors nominated are former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams of the Titans and Robert Kraft of the Patriots. Former Browns and Ravens owner Art Modell, who died this month, also is a nominee. Other holdover nominees include receivers Cris Carter and Andre Reed, running back Jerome Bettis, guard Will Shields, DE Charles Haley, linebacker Kevin Greene and defensive back Aeneas Williams, all finalists for the 2012 class.
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP



Former Bucs Lynch, Sapp nominated for football hall