tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2018
  • Home
Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Bucs’ official depth chart holds few surprises

— Saying it was sure to change at several positions, Tampa Bay Buccaneers coach Lovie Smith warned fans not to put too much stock into the depth chart the team released a month ago at the start of the preseason.

For those who chose to ignore Smith’s warning, there is a slight payoff today.

The Bucs on Tuesday released their first official depth chart of the regular season and, for the most part, it looks like the one released a few days into training camp.

The most notable difference is at guard, where second-year pro Patrick Omameh won the starting right guard job after pushing Jamon Meredith down the depth chart and eventually off the team. Omameh appears in line to make his first pro start for Tampa Bay on Sunday against Carolina.

Six-time Pro Bowler Logan Mankins, acquired from New England in a trade last week, is at left guard.

Two other notable changes are at the return positions, where running back Bobby Rainey is listed as the first punt returner and wide receiver Chris Owusu as the kick returner.

Owusu was originally listed as a starter at wide receiver ahead of first-round draft pick Mike Evans, but Evans claimed the first spot a couple weeks ago.

Here is the full depth chart:




QB – Josh McCown, Mike Glennon

RB – Doug Martin, Bobby Rainey, Charles Sims, Mike James

FB – Jorvorskie Lane

LT – Anthony Collins, Kevin Pamphile

LG – Logan Mankins, Kadeem Edwards

C – Evan Dietrich-Smith, Garrett Gilkey

RG – Patrick Omameh, Rishaw Johnson

RT – Demar Dotson, Oniel Cousins

TE – Brandon Myers, Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Luke Stocker

WR – Vincent Jackson, Louis Murphy, Robert Herron

WR – Mike Evans, Chris Owusu, Russell Shepard


LE – Adrian Clayborn, William Gholston, Scott Solomon

DT – Gerald McCoy, Da’Quan Bowers

DT – Clinton McDonald, Akeem Spence

RE – Michael Johnson, Steven Means

SLB – Jonathan Casillas, Danny Lansanah

MLB – Mason Foster, Dane Fletcher

WLB – Lavonte David, Danny Lansanah

CB – Alterraun Verner, Rashaan Melvin

CB – Mike Jenkisn, Johnthan Banks

NCB – Leonard Johnson, Quinton Pointer

SS – Mark Barron, Bradley McDougald

FS – Dashon Goldson, Keith Tandy


P – Micheal Koenen, Patrick Murray

PK – Patrick Murray, Michael Koenen

KO – Michael Koenen, Patrick Murray

H – Michael Koenen, Mike Glennon

LS – Andrew DePaola, Dane Fletcher

PR – Bobby Rainey

KR – Chris Owusu, Mike James, Bobby Rainey

Weather Center