tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2018
  • Home
Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Bucs' Glennon named to all-rookie team

Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Mike Glennon led all rookies in touchdown passes (19) and passer rating (83.9) in 2013, and those achievements earned him a spot on the Pro Football Writers of America's all- rookie team.

Glennon, who took over the Bucs' starting quarterback duties in Week 4, finished the year ranked second among rookies with 2,068 passing yards and is the first Bucs rookie QB to earn a spot on the PFWA team since Vinny Testaverde in 1987.

“It's something I'm proud of,” Glennon said of the honor. “A lot of work went into this year, but I also received a lot of help from my teammates to put me in situations to succeed. Hopefully this is something to build on going forward.”

Glennon, a third-round selection in the 2013 draft, was the third quarterback selected behind EJ Manuel (first round, Buffalo) and Geno Smith (second round, Jets).

He ranked 26th and ahead of Manuel and Smith in completion percentage (59.4) and 21st overall and ahead of Manuel and Smith in passer rating.

Others on the team include the association's Rookie of the Year, Packers running back Eddie Lacy, Offensive Rookie of the Year, receiver Keenan Allen of the Chargers, and Defensive Rookie of the Year, Bills linebacker Kiko Alonso.




QB – Mike Glennon, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

RB – Giovani Bernard, Cincinnati Bengals; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers

WR – Keenan Allen, San Diego Chargers; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans

TE – Jordan Reed, Washington Redskins

C – Travis Frederick, Dallas Cowboys

G – Kyle Long, Chicago Bears; Larry Warford, Detroit Lions

T – D.J. Fluker, San Diego Chargers; Justin Pugh, New York Giants


DL – Ziggy Ansah, Detroit Lions; Star Lotulelei, Carolina Panthers; Sheldon Richardson, New York Jets; Kawann Short, Carolina Panthers

LB – Kiko Alonso, Buffalo Bills; Sio Moore, Oakland Raiders; Alec Ogletree, St. Louis Rams

CB – Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona Cardinals; Desmond Trufant, Atlanta Falcons

S – Eric Reid, San Francisco 49ers; Kenny Vaccaro, New Orleans Saints

Special Teams

PK – Caleb Sturgis, Miami Dolphins

P – Sam Martin, Detroit Lions

KR – Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota Vikings

PR – Tavon Austin, St. Louis Rams

ST – Don Jones, Miami Dolphins

Weather Center