tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Sunday, Sep 24, 2017
  • Home
Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Buccaneers again shut out of NFL Pro Bowl

TAMPA Despite their surprising 9-6 record, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers have been shut out of the Pro Bowl for the second consecutive season. Tampa Bay and Seattle were the only NFC clubs without a representative Tuesday, when the NFL announced the voting results. Veteran cornerback Ronde Barber was denied a sixth Pro Bowl berth. Other Buccaneer notables shut out were cornerback Aqib Talib, who had six interceptions before a season-ending hip injury Dec. 5; left tackle Donald Penn and rookie wide receiver Mike Williams.
Josh Freeman, the ninth-rated passer in the league, also was denied as the Eagles' Michael Vick was named the NFC starter and the Saints' Drew Brees and Matt Ryan of Atlanta were named to the squad. 2011 PRO BOWL ROSTERS AFC Quarterbacks: * Tom Brady, New England, Philip Rivers, San Diego, Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Running Backs: * Maurice Jones-Drew, Jacksonville, Arian Foster, Houston, Jamaal Charles, Kansas City Fullback: * Vonta Leach, Houston Wide Receivers: * Andre Johnson, Houston, * Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis, Brandon Lloyd, Denver, Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City Tight Ends: * Antonio Gates, San Diego, Marcedes Lewis, Jacksonville Centers: * Nick Mangold, N.Y. Jets, Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Guards: * Kris Dielman, San Diego, * Logan Mankins, New England, Brian Waters, Kansas City Tackles: * Jake Long, Miami, * Joe Thomas, Cleveland, D'Brickashaw Ferguson, N.Y. Jets DEFENSE Defensive Ends: * Dwight Freeney, Indianapolis, * Robert Mathis, Indianapolis, Jason Babin, Tennessee Interior Linemen: * Haloti Ngata, Baltimore, * Vince Wilfork, New England, Richard Seymour, Oakland Inside-Middle Linebackers: * Ray Lewis, Baltimore, Jerod Mayo, New England Outside Linebackers: * James Harrison, Pittsburgh, * Cameron Wake, Miami, Terrell Suggs, Baltimore Cornerbacks: * Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland, * Darrelle Revis, N.Y. Jets, Devin McCourty, New England Strong Safety: * Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh Free Safeties: * Ed Reed, Baltimore, Brandon Meriweather, New England SPECIALISTS Punter: Shane Lechler, Oakland Kick-return specialist: Marc Mariani, Tennessee Place-kicker: Billy Cundiff, Baltimore Special-teamer: Montell Owens, Jacksonville NFC OFFENSE Quarterbacks: * Michael Vick, Philadelphia, Matt Ryan, Atlanta, Drew Brees, New Orleans Running Backs: * Michael Turner, Atlanta, Adrian Peterson, Minnesota, Steven Jackson, St. Louis Fullback: * Ovie Mughelli, Atlanta Wide Receivers: * Roddy White, Atlanta, * Calvin Johnson, Detroit, DeSean Jackson, Philadelphia, Greg Jennings, Green Bay Tight Ends: * Jason Witten, Dallas, Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta Centers: * Andre Gurode, Dallas, Shaun O'Hara, N.Y. Giants Guards: * Jahri Evans, New Orleans, * Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants, Carl Nicks, New Orleans Tackles: * Jason Peters, Philadelphia, * Jordan Gross, Carolina, Chad Clifton, Green Bay DEFENSE Defensive Ends: * Julius Peppers, Chicago, * John Abraham, Atlanta, Justin Tuck, N.Y. Giants Interior Linemen: * Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, * Jay Ratliff, Dallas, Justin Smith, San Francisco Inside-Middle Linebackers: * Patrick Willis, San Francisco, Brian Urlacher, Chicago Outside Linebackers: * Clay Matthews, Green Bay, * DeMarcus Ware, Dallas, Lance Briggs, Chicago Cornerbacks: * Asante Samuel, Philadelphia, * Charles Woodson, Green Bay, DeAngelo Hall, Washington Strong Safety: * Adrian Wilson, Arizona Free Safeties: * Nick Collins, Green Bay, Antrel Rolle, N.Y. Giants SPECIALISTS Punter: Mat McBriar, Dallas Kick-return specialist: Devin Hester, Chicago Place-kicker: David Akers, Philadelphia Special-teamer: Eric Weems, Atlanta *-denotes starter
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP