tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018
  • Home
Tampa Bay Rays

Tampa's Tino Martinez added to Hall ballot

Tino Martinez would like to see the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot. Hey, you would, too, if your name was on it. The Tampa native is one of 19 newcomers to the ballot, which was released Monday. "Obviously I don't think I'll ever make it, but to have you're name on that ballot is a great honor," Martinez said. "It's a great honor for any player. I'm really appreciative of that. I'm kind of fired up." Martinez joins fellow Tampa native Fred McGriff on the ballot. This is McGriff's second year of eligibility.
A player must have played at least 10 years and been retired for five to appear on a ballot. A candidate must receive more than 5 percent of the vote to remain on the ballot. He can remain on the ballot no longer than 15 years. To earn enshrinement to Cooperstown, a player must receive at least 75 percent of the vote. Members of the Baseball Writers Association of American with at least 10 years of continuous membership vote on the Hall of Fame. The results will be announced Jan. 5. "The chances of getting in are really, really out of reach," Martinez said, "but the fact that I even have consideration for it is a great accomplishment." Martinez played for the Mariners, Yankees, Cardinals and Devil Rays during his 16-year career. He was a member of four World Series championship teams with the Yankees and was a two-time All-Star. In 1997, he had career-highs in home runs (44) and RBIs (141). "It's a great feeling," he said. "First of all, I was fortunate enough to play a long time with some great teammates, some great coaches. I had a great career. This is the icing on the cake, I think, to at least be mentioned in that category." Here are the 33 players on this year's ballot: Roberto Alomar, Carlos Baerga, Jeff Bagwell, Harold Baines, Bert Blyleven, Bret Boone, Kevin Brown, John Franco, Juan Gonzalez, Marquis Grissom, Lenny Harris, Bobby Higginson, Charles Johnson, Barry Larkin, Al Leiter, Edgar Martinez, Tino Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Raul Mondesi, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, John Olerud, Rafael Palmeiro, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Kirk Rueter, Benito Santiago, Lee Smith, B.J. Surhoff, Alan Trammell and Larry Walker.
Weather Center