tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Sunday, Oct 22, 2017
  • Home
Auto racing

Lucrative Florida 400 Expecting An Impressive Field

DeSoto Super Speedway presents one of the nation's most lucrative sprint car events this weekend when it hosts the Florida 400. With a $56,000 purse and $12,000 payout to the winner, only the Little 500 in Anderson, Ind., has a later total purse. Drivers from USAC, TBARA, ASCS and many other Southern-based sprint car series are expected to vie for the end-of-year cash prize. The entries include defending Florida 400 champion David Steele of Tampa. Other notables include Bill Davis Racing NASCAR development driver Bobby Santos III, eight-time Little 500 champion Eric Gordon and ASCS Rebel Region champion T.J. Winegardner.
The 400-lap event will pit 30 of the nation's finest wingless sprint car teams in a grueling marathon event that will include at least two mandatory "hot" pit stops in the infield. The wingless action starts today, with an afternoon practice session on the track to allow teams to brush up on pit stop attempts. Grandstands will be open to the public for the practice session. Friday's qualifying will lock the fastest 30 cars into the event. Cars bumped from the field may attempt to requalify by bumping others, and a qualified car may scratch its qualifying time at any moment and attempting to post a faster time. The 30-car Florida 400 field is scheduled to take the green flag at 8 p.m. on Saturday. For more information, go to www.florida400.net or contact DeSoto Super Speedway at (941) 748-3171. AUBURNDALE SPEEDWAY: Winners last weekend included: Jason Schroader (Mini-Cup Pros), Daniel Miller (Mini-Cup Stars), Aaron Williamson (Sportsman), James Wright III (Street Stock), Jason Bertsch (Mod-Minis), Fred Harrison (Mini-Stocks) and Bobby Kelley Jr. (Scramblers). CITRUS COUNTY SPEEDWAY: Fans are invited to the annual awards banquet at the Citrus County Auditorium, located at the speedway. The celebration of the 2007 season begins Dec. 14 at 6 p.m., with dinner and awards after a short social hour. Tickets will not be sold at the door. Call (352) 726-9339 for information. DeSOTO SUPER SPEEDWAY: The second annual Florida Wingless Sprint Car 400 is this weekend. Last week's winners were: Mike Gamache (School Bus Figure 8), Chris Zimmerman (Mod-Minis), Randy Johnson (Pure Stocks), Maxx Bennett (Street Stocks), Todd Bontrager (DeSoto Trucks), Wayne Jefferson (Open Wheel Modified) and Lou Russell (Bombers). EAST BAY RACEWAY PARK: Crate Late Models headline the schedule the next two weeks. This week will be a warm-up for the Dec. 6-7 StormPay.Com Crate Late Model World Championship, which pays $10,000 to the winner. This week's support classes include the Open Wheel Modifieds, Street Stocks, Outlaw 4's and 4-Cylinder Bombers.
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP