tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Saturday, May 26, 2018
  • Home

Rays shut out as Gold Gloves awarded

Despite having their entire infield listed among the nominees, the Tampa Bay Rays didn't take home any Gold Gloves when the 2013 recipients were announced Tuesday night.

Baltimore third baseman Manny Machado and shorstop J.J. Hardy were chosen over the Rays' Evan Longoria and Yunel Escobar, respectively.

Boston's Dustin Pedroia took the award for American League second basemen ahead of Ben Zobrist, and Kansas City's Eric Hosmer won out over Rays first baseman James Loney.

Gold Gloves have been awarded by Rawlings since 1957 to honor the finest fielders at each position in both leagues.

Six teams - Arizona, Baltimore, Boston, Colorado, Kansas City, St. Louis - accounted for 14 of the 18 winners. Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won for the sixth consecutive season.

Manages and coaches vote for players within their league, and cannot vote for their own players.

The complete list of winners:


American League

Pitcher - R.A. Dickey, Toronto

Catcher - Salvador Perez, Kansas City

First base - Eric Hosmer, Kansas City

Second base - Dustin Pedroia, Boston

Third base - Manny Machado, Baltimore

Shortstop - J.J. Hardy, Baltimore

Left field - Alex Gordon, Kansas City

Center field - Adam Jones, Baltimore

Right field - Shane Victorino, Boston


National League

Pitcher - Adam Wainwright, St. Louis

Catcher - Yadier Molina, St. Louis

First base - Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona

Second base - Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati

Third base - Nolan Arenado, Colorado

Shortstop - Andrelton Simmons, Atlanta

Left field - Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado

Center field - Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee

Right field - Gerardo Parra, Arizona

Weather Center