TBO.com: Tampa Bay Online, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather.
Thursday, Feb 11, 2016
Pasco Tribune

Pasco Tribune all-Pasco County boys swimming


200 medley relay – Sunlake (Juan Lopez, Austin VanVliet, Daniel Sarrett, Terence St. Onge)

Won Sunshine Athletic Conference, district and placed third at region.

200 freestyle – Caleb Zeleznock, Wesley Chapel, Sr.

Placed second at district, was seventh at region and 23rd at state.

200 individual medley – Jordon Wheeler, Land O' Lakes, Sr.

Second at district, fifth at region and 19th at state.

50 freestyle – Cam Hilgenberg, Land O' Lakes, Jr.

Won a district crown, third at region and placed 16th at state.

Diving – Austin Wachsman, Sunlake, Sr.

Won SAC and district titles; third at region and finished 14th at state.

100 butterfly – Devin McCaffrey, Mitchell, So.

Was SAC and district winner; second at region and won a state championship. Capped sensational sophomore year.

100 freestyle – Hunter Swartsel, Gulf, Sr.

District and regional champion and placed seventh at state.

500 freestyle – Jordon Wheeler, Land O' Lakes, Sr.

Won district title, was fourth at region and finished 20th at state.

200 freestyle relay – Sunlake (Terence St. Onge, Daniel Sarrett, Tyler St. Onge, Austin VanVliet)

Won district title and placed fourth at region.

100 backstroke – Hunter Swartsel, Gulf, Sr.

District champion; third at region and seventh at state.

100 breaststroke – Devin McCaffrey, Mitchell, So.

First Pasco County swimmer to win back-to-back state titles in any event and completed that feat in the 100 breaststroke at state.

400 freestyle relay – Gulf (Dailey Jordan, Spencer Regelson, Daniel Ramech, Hunter Swartsel)

Won Class 2A-5 district title; fifth at region.


200 medley relay – Gulf (Dailey Jordan, Hunter Swartsel, Spencer Regelson, Daniel Ramech)

200 freestyle – Spencer Regelson, Gulf, Jr.

200 individual medley – Austin Wojkiewicz, River Ridge, Sr.

50 freestyle – Peter Mercadante, Pasco, Jr.

Diving – Taylor Ellis, Sunlake, Jr.

100 butterfly – Matt Menendez, Wiregrass Ranch, Sr.

100 freestyle – Austin VanVliet, Sunlake, Sr.

500 freestyle – Dailey Jordan, Gulf, So.

200 freestyle relay – Land O' Lakes (Cam Hilgenberg, Grant Pawlak, Ryan Cox, Spencer Phillips)

100 backstroke – Austin Wojkiewicz, River Ridge, Sr.

100 breaststroke – Caleb Zeleznock, Wesley Chapel, Sr.

400 freestyle relay – Land O' Lakes (Jordon Wheeler, Spencer Phillips, Grant Pawlak, Cam Hilgenberg)


Academy at the Lakes – Dillan Villavisanis; Fivay – Jacon Atwell, Coty Dalrymple, Dominick Grilli, William Haas, Jesse Miller, Marcelo Ortega; Hudson – Dalton Hale; Land O' Lakes – James Adams, Ryan Cox, Alex Long, Patrick Lawson, Andrew Morris, Parker Phillips; Mitchell – Tim Green, Jacob Williams; Pasco – Kenneth Graham; River Ridge – Danny McAuliffe; Sunlake –David Sparks, Eli Walker; Wesley Chapel – John Thompson; Zephyrhills – Kyle VanBuren, Samuel Rockhill.


Barbara Hayes, Land O' Lakes

Hayes had to overcome numerous swimmers graduating from 2010 and all her squad did was reload and won a SAC championship, district title and finished tied fifth at regionals with Sunlake. Had two swimmers qualify for states.

The Pasco Tribune all-Pasco County boys swimming team was selected by correspondent Andy Villamarzo, based on regular-season and postseason events. The Player of the Year will be announced in June.

Subscribe to The Tampa Tribune