tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Monday, Jun 18, 2018
  • Home

Four Hillsborough schools have new principals

TAMPA – The Hillsborough County School Board today named new principals at four schools.

Jennifer McCrystal, currently assistant principal for instruction at Buckhorn Elementary School, is the new principal of Bryan Elementary. She replaces Cheryl Boddie, who retired.

McCrystal started her career with the school district in 1992 as a teacher at Ruskin Elementary. She taught at Seffner and Valrico elementaries before becoming a reading coach at Frost Elementary and then assistant principal at Buckhorn.

Cristina Fernandez, assistant principal for elementary instruction at Egypt Lake Elementary, is the new principal of Mendenhall Elementary replacing Ire Carolina, who was named principal of Just Elementary.

Fernandez has been with the district since 1995, when she began teaching at Bay Crest Elementary. She taught at Westchase and Davis elementaries before becoming assistant principal of Twin Lakes Elementary in 2008 and then Egypt Lake in 2010.

Deborah Anderson, assistant principal for elementary instruction at Mitchell Elementary, was promoted to principal now that Joann Baumgartner is retiring.

Anderson began teaching in Hillsborough in 1979 at Mabry Elementary. Since then, she has worked as a teacher at Gorrie Elementary, a reading coach at Chiaramonte and an administrative resource teacher of elementary education for the district, before becoming assistant principal at Mitchell in 2007.

Mary Freitas, assistant principal for curriculum at Lennard High, was promoted to principal of the school. She replaces Craig Horstman, who is now the district’s customer services manager.

Freitas started in Hillsborough in 2000 as a teacher at Plant High. She served as an assistant principal at Sickles and Steinbrenner high schools before landing her job at Lennard in 2012.

The new principals will officially take over July 1.

[email protected]


Twitter: @ErinKTBO

Weather Center