tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Saturday, May 26, 2018
  • Home
Breaking News

Crosby wins Hart; Bolts shut out at NHL Awards

Seven years after Sidney Crosby won his first Hart Trophy, the Pittsburgh captain has been recognized as the NHL’s best once again.

Crosby won the NHL’s most valuable player award for the second time Tuesday night at the league’s postseason awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

After his first full season without major injuries since 2010, the Penguins’ 26-year-old center cleaned up at the NHL’s awards show to cap a fruitful year that included a second gold medal as Canada’s captain at the Sochi Olympics. Crosby also collected the Art Ross Trophy as the league scoring champion and the Ted Lindsay Award as the players’ choice for the NHL’s most outstanding player.

Colorado coach Patrick Roy won the Adams Award. Jon Cooper, in his first full year behind the bench with the Tampa Bay Lightning, finished third in voting, receiving five first-place votes. Mike Babock of Detroit was the other finalist.

Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon became the youngest player to win the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s top rookie. Ondrej Palat of the Lightning finished second in Calder Trophy voting, receiving five first-place votes, while Tampa Bay’s Tyler Johnson took third.

Palat and Johnson were also named the NHL’s All-Rookie Team.

Boston goalie Tuukka Rask won the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goaltender. Tampa Bay’s Ben Bishop got one first-place vote as he finished third. Bishop also was 10th in the Hart Trophy voting.

Boston’s Patrice Bergeron won his second Selke Trophy as the NHL’s best defensive forward. Palat was 11th and Johnson 19th in Selke Trophy voting.

Chicago’s Duncan Keith won his second Norris Trophy as the league’s top defenseman. Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman, who finished fifth overall in scoring by a defenseman with 55 points, was ninth in Norris voting with one first-place vote.

Anaheim general manager Bob Murray was voted the NHL’s general manager of the year after building the Ducks into the two-time Pacific Division champions and the Western Conference’s top regular-season team.

The Lightning’s Steve Yzerman received two of 35 possible first-place votes for the GM award — voted on by the league’s 30 general managers along with a panel of executives, print and broadcast media — and finished eighth overall.

Dominic Moore of the New York Rangers won the Masterton Trophy, an award for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Moore, who played with the Lightning from 2010 to 2012, returned to the NHL this season after sitting out last year to be with his wife, Katie, who died from a rare form of liver cancer in January 2013. The 33-year-old forward thanked his family and teammates.

“I’ve had a lot of good examples of perseverance over the years, and none more so than my wife, Katie,” Moore said. “So this award is very meaningful, and I’m very grateful.”

Colorado’s Ryan O’Reilly won the Lady Byng Trophy for his sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct after scoring a career-best 64 points while committing just one minor penalty all year.

The winners of the league’s statistical awards also were recognized at the ceremony in the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

Washington’s Alex Ovechkin accepted his fourth Richard Trophy as the NHL’s top goal-scorer, while Jonathan Quick and the Los Angeles Kings won their first Jennings Trophy for the NHL’s fewest goals allowed.

In a modest acceptance speech, Crosby thanked his teammates and family.

“I appreciate all the sacrifices you’ve made to allow me to play the game I love every day,” Crosby said.

Crosby won his second NHL scoring title with 104 points, including 68 assists in his fifth career 100-point season. Crosby scored in 60 of his 80 games, never going more than two games without a point for the Metropolitan Division champion Penguins.

Crosby hadn’t won the Hart Trophy since 2007, when he led the NHL in scoring as a 19-year-old prodigy. This time around, Sid the Kid handily beat out Anaheim captain Ryan Getzlaf and Philadelphia captain Claude Giroux, receiving 128 of the 137 first-place votes from a panel of hockey writers. Getzlaf finished second.

“You play for the big one that the Kings have here tonight, but this is definitely nice,” Crosby told the NHL Network, referring to Los Angeles’ Stanley Cup title.

Crosby was particularly honored by his second straight Ted Lindsay Award. Crosby received the Lindsay from his fellow players last season, but was beaten out by Ovechkin for the Hart.

“Those are the guys that you compete against every night,” Crosby said. “Knowing that and being selected, it’s an honor and a compliment, so I definitely appreciate it.”

Roy was chosen the NHL’s top coach in his first season behind the Colorado bench. The Hall of Fame goalie led the Avalanche from 29th place in the overall league standings to third this season, going 52-22-8 and winning the Central Division.

“When I retired, I never thought I’d be in that position to win this award as a coach,” Roy said while thanking his players. “They’ve been very special to me, and they’ve been working so hard for us. They’ve bought into what we’re trying to do as a team.”

Washington’s Bruce Boudreau, now with Anaheim, was the last rookie head coach to win the Adams, in 2008.

Bergeron beat out Los Angeles’ Anze Kopitar and Chicago captain Jonathan Toews for the Selke, which he also won in 2012. The smooth two-way forward, who also won the NHL Foundation Player Award for his charitable work, won a league-high 1,015 faceoffs while finishing second in the NHL with a career-best plus-38 rating.

Rask went 36-15-6 and finished in the top five in every major statistical category — including a league-best seven shutouts — to win his first Vezina for Boston, which claimed the Presidents’ Trophy with the NHL’s best regular-season record. The NHL’s general managers chose Rask in a narrow vote over Colorado’s Semyon Varlamov, who finished fourth in the Hart Trophy balloting.

Keith comfortably beat out Boston captain Zdeno Chara and Nashville’s Shea Weber for the Norris, which he also won in 2010. Keith, who led all defensemen with 55 assists while leading the Blackhawks in ice time for the ninth straight season, is the only active NHL defenseman with multiple Norris wins.

MacKinnon was a runaway winner of the Calder, receiving 130 of the 137 first-place votes. The No. 1 overall pick doesn’t turn 19 until Sept. 1, beating Carolina’s Jeff Skinner in 2011 as the youngest player to claim the trophy.

Edmonton’s Andrew Ference won the King Clancy Award for humanitarian contributions to hockey, while Los Angeles captain Dustin Brown won the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award for his charitable work.

Tribune reporter Erik Erlendsson contributed this report.

Weather Center