tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Monday, Jun 25, 2018
  • Home

Joyner, Hargreaves are Thorpe semifinalists

OKLAHOMA CITY — Florida State’s Lamarcus Joyner and Florida’s Vernon Hargreaves (Wharton High) are among the 15 semifinalists for this year’s Jim Thorpe Award, given to the country’s top defensive back.

Three finalists will be named Nov. 25, with the winner announced Dec. 12 on ESPN. The award is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City.

Other semifinalists for the honor include Alabama’s Landon Collins, Oregon’s Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Ohio State’s C.J. Barnett, Washington State’s Deone Bucannon, Oklahoma’s Aaron Colvin, Michigan State’s Darqueze Dennard, Virginia Tech’s Kyle Fuller, Oregon State’s Steven Nelson, Ole Miss’ Cody Prewitt, Louisville’s Calvin Pryor, TCU’s Jason Verrett, Northern Illinois’ Jimmie Ward and Kansas State’s Ty Zimmerman.

Last year’s award went to Mississippi State’s Johnthan Banks, who was drafted by the Bucs in the second round of the 2013 NFL draft.


PENN STATE: The school said it is paying $59.7 million to 26 young men over claims of child sexual abuse at the hands of former assistant football coach Jerry Sandusky.

The school said 23 deals are fully signed and three are agreements in principle, but it did not disclose the names of the recipients.

The school faces six other claims, some of which it says may still produce future settlements.

University president Rodney Erickson issued a statement calling the announcement a step forward for victims and the school.

Weather Center