Florida lawmakers are considering making driving while texting a primary offense, so that law enforcement can pull you over if they see you do it.
While current state law allows for fines of $20, it doesnít allow for any points assessed to a driverís record. A bill now being considered by state lawmakers would raise the fine to $30 and include an assessment of six points to a driverís record if the texting causes a crash.
While gaining support among grassroots groups and law enforcement, some of the members of the Florida Legislatureís black caucus say they worry the tougher law encourages greater officer discretion that could lead to a disproportionate number of African-Americans getting stopped and searched.
What do you think? Does Florida need a tougher law on texting while driving? Vote and tell us in the comments below.
Tougher texting-while-driving law gains House speakerís support
Support for new texting-while-driving law grows. So do concerns it will lead to more racial profiling.