tbo: Tampa Bay Online.
Saturday, Sep 23, 2017
  • Home
Major League Baseball

Rays 3B Longoria picked for defensive award

Evan Longoria squeeked ahead of Ryan Zimmerman to win the 2010 Fielding Bible Award for third base in an announcement made today in The Bill James Handbook 2011. This is Longoria's first Fielding Bible Award. Brett Gardner upset favorite and three-time award winner Carl Crawford in left field. Sean Rodriguez was fifth among major league second basemen. Ben Zobrist was eighth among major league right fielders. Longoria was chosen by a panel of ten experts, including Peter Gammons, Bill James, Joe Posnanski, and John Dewan, author of the Fielding Bible-Volume II. In granting the award to Longoria, Dewan wrote: "This was our closest race. Evan Longoria prevented Ryan Zimmerman from winning his second consecutive award by a single point in the voting (92 to 91)." Officially announced annually on November 1 (before any other fielding awards), the Fielding Bible Awards try to name the single best fielder at each of the nine positions (including pitcher) in the major leagues. This year marks the first-ever unanimous decision by the ten-judge panel: Yadier Molina earned a perfect 100 points to to win his fourth consecutive Fielding Bible Award. "It was unanimous-for the first time in the history of the Fielding Bible Awards," Dewan wrote. "Yadier Molina was listed first on all ten ballots for a total of 100 points, the highest possible in the voting. It's his fourth consecutive award, and nearly his fifth as he lost in 2006 by only six points."
This year, National League players were chosen at four positions, American League players at five. 2010 marks the fifth year of the award. Yadier Molina tied first-baseman Albert Pujols of the Cardinals for the most career Fielding Bible Awards and they are the only players to have won a Fielding Bible Award four years in a row. This year, however, Daric Barton knocked Pujols off his pedestal and took the Fielding Bible Award for first base. The complete voting results and further information are available in The Bill James Handbook 2011, published by ACTA Sports (). The 2010 Fielding Bible Award winners are: First Base-Daric Barton, Oakland Athletics (first-time winner)Second Base-Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies (first-time winner)Third Base-Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays (first-time winner) Shortstop-Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies (second-time winner)Left Field-Brett Gardner, New York Yankees (first-time winner)Center Field-Michael Bourn, Houston Astros (first-time winner)Right Field-Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners (third-time winner) Catcher-Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals (fourth-time winner)Pitcher-Mark Buehrle, Chicago White Sox (second-time winner)
Weather Center

10Weather WTSP